Scrabble Conversation

I watched Lana intently as she laid down her tiles. 

A….S….P

“Asp?”  I looked questionally at Lana.  “Is that even a word?”

“I don’t know.  Look it up.”  I was skeptical. My inner monologue was on fast forward.

I’ve never heard of the word asp.  Is Lana jerking my chain or is it really a word?  I should challenge it.  I should for sure challenge it.  Oooh, I don’t know.  Lana reads War and Peace for fun.  She has an incredible vocabulary…but I can beat her at scrabble.  I should challenge.  Yes, I should challenge.

“Is that really a word Lana?”  I looked at her insistently.

“I don’t know.  Why don’t you challenge it?” 

“Seriously?  Are you jerking my chain, Lana?  I don’t appreciate this.  Is it a legit word? Tell me.” I was getting frustrated. I hate losing.

“I don’t know, Elyse….so what are you going to do?”  She was smiling at my indecision and frustration.

“Fine, I challenge.”  I reached for the dictionary.  I barely had it opened before Lana screamed.

“IT’S A SNAKE!  AN ASP IS A VENOMOUS SNAKE!  HAHAHAHAHAHA!  I TRICKED YOU!”  She was rolling on the floor laughing.

Well, shit.

Here is a picture of an asp; really, it can be any of several types of venomous snakes, such as a cobra.

4 thoughts on “Scrabble Conversation

  1. Sorry I haven’t been around much lately, but my book, The Bellman Chronicles, will be FREE to download on Sept. 10 – 11! Check it out on my Amazon Kindle page.. You won’t be disappointed. And if you can slip me a review, I’d be forever grateful…

Leave a comment